## MD5----Mandan/Bismarck----Convention Rules 2018

- 1. The official convention program shall be the order of business.
- 2. Roberts Rules of Order shall govern on parliamentary procedures.
- 3. Lions in good standing must be registered in order to vote on all convention matters. Clubs with indebtedness of over \$50 to Lions International or their District will be considered not in good standing.
- 4. The use of profane language at any business session, social function, or banquet is prohibited.
- 5. Refunds of convention fees shall be requested from Lion PDG Kevin Vannett, MD5 Mandan Convention Treasurer, Mandan, ND. and must be received no later than May 26, 2018. These refunds of Convention registrations may be made <u>up to 7 days prior</u> to the start of the Convention. Because meals, etc. have been committed by the Convention Committee, refunds limited to 50% of the original registration fee may be requested from 7 days prior to the Convention <u>up to but not later than 7 days after the</u> conclusion of the Convention. Questions: Should be directed to Convention Treasurer Lion PDG Kevin Vannett Ph. #: 701-426-8050.
- All resolutions shall be submitted to Council Chairperson Terry Peterson, by 9 a. m. Saturday, May 19, 2018 in care of the Lions Registration Desk, at the Radisson Hotel, Bismarck, North Dakota, USA.
- 7. **Credentials** to vote at the MD5 Deadwood Convention can be delivered upon arrival at the convention, in care of the Lions Registration Desk, Radisson Hotel, Bismarck, North Dakota. no later than 9:00 a.m. Saturday, May 19, 2018.
- 8. Entries for: (2) -- Most Lions Miles Traveled (25 members under/over) submitted by registrants, The -MD5 Lion Club of the Year Contest, Club Website Contest, District Club Scrapbook, and District Club Newsletter winners are to be submitted, from each District Governor, to DG Terry McAleese MD5 Service Committee Chairperson by 9 a. m. Saturday, May 19, 2018 in care of the Lions Registration Desk, Radisson Hotel, in Bismarck, North Dakota.
- 9. Any details regarding changing the Constitution and By-Laws shall be submitted to CC Terry Peterson, by March 30, 2018. (Please allow for slow Mail)
- 10. All reports of Committee meetings held at the convention shall be submitted to the Council Secretary, PDG Ken Peters, Reports shall be typewritten and emailed to the Secretary ASAP in a format approved by council for inclusion in the convention proceedings report.
- 11. Privilege to speak regarding convention sites or any matter pertaining to MD5 business must be requested of Council Chairperson, Terry Peterson.
- 12. In our Business Sessions a delegate will be recognized by the Council Chairperson provided that said delegate stands, goes to the nearest microphone, and states his/her name and club for recording purposes. No Lion shall be allowed to speak for more than three (3) minutes each time on any one subject without the consent of the convention delegates.
- 13. All voting at business sessions shall be conducted by card vote by qualified delegates present. A roll call or secret ballot vote may be directed by the Chairperson if considered warranted, or may be requested by a motion passed by a majority of qualified delegates present. The Credentials Committee shall conduct all written ballot voting. After the votes have been counted, said ballots shall be turned over to the Secretary to destroy. Voting shall be based on one (1) vote for each ten (10) members of a club or a major fraction. Five (5) members shall constitute a major fraction.
- 14. Solicitation or sale of club project items with the exception of the host club(s) is prohibited. The host club(s) shall secure permission from the Council of Governors.
- 15. Business Sessions shall be smoke free. Smoking areas shall be established outside of the business area and for all convention meals.
- 16. Submissions to host the 2024 MD5 Convention shall be mailed to Secretary PDG Ken Peters, 462 14<sup>th</sup> St East, PO Box 26, Regina Beach, Saskatchewan S0G 4C0 or submitted to the Registration Desk at the Radisson Hotel, Bismarck, North Dakota. no later than Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 9 a.m.

PDG Terry Peterson, MD5 Council Chairperson PDG Mark Koller, Vice Council Chairperson PDG Ken Peters, Council Secretary PDG Kevin Vannett, Council Treasurer